Make you banana pancakes, pretend like it’s the weekend now

Sorry I’ve been incommunicado for a while! mum's plate.JPGThe blog definitely fell by the wayside while I was on prac, but now that I’m happily out the other side, I can start getting creative again. 😉

For Mother’s Day this year, my mum requested banana pancakes – I’ve never made them before, but recipes abound online so all good. I was intending to make these great-looking wholemeal banana pancakes from Taste, when I noticed at the last minute that I had no wholemeal flour! I then figured my subsequent experiment would be blog-worthy.

The modification

I tweaked the flour and added some oats, as well as changing honey to maple syrup (because to me, pancakes wouldn’t be pancakes without maple syrup!), and buttermilk to yoghurt and milk (because I also don’t have buttermilk in the fridge – this whole recipe is basically “what do I have and what can I do with it?”).

banana pancake changes

I also used the food processor for funzies, but it would be totally fine to mash the banana, combine the wet ingredients, combine the dry ingredients and make a well in the centre, and then whisk the wet into the dry.

What difference did it make?

Any positive differences are a bonus since this was an emergency modification. From a fibre perspective, it looks like I would have been better off using the original recipe, but I’ll take solace in mine being slightly lower in sugar. 😉

panana pancakes info

The recipe – Banana and oat pancakes

Ingredients:

ingredients.JPG

  • 2 medium bananas
  • 1 1/2 cups milk and/or yoghurt (I used 1 cup Greek yoghurt with 1/2 cup milk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup self-raising flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Vegetable oil (e.g. canola), to cook

Method:

  1. In the food processor,
    batter.JPG

    Note: This batter was unusually thick

    process bananas until smooth, then add each ingredient one at a time (except oil, in the order listed), processing between each addition. Stand 10 minutes.

  2. Spray or brush a large, non-stick frying pan with oil. Heat over medium heat.
  3. Spoon ~1/4 cup batter into pan. Cook for 3-4 minutes until bottom side is golden. Turn; cook for 2-3 minutes or until golden and cooked through.
  4. Transfer to a plate. Cover to keep warm. Repeat with remaining batter.in pan side 2.JPG

I served these with mascarpone (because it happened to be in the fridge – I’m sensing a theme here) and berries (thawed from frozen, because fresh would mean $$$ at the moment; also, they happened to be in the freezer), finished with a drizzle of maple syrup.

my plate.JPG

Opinions

They were super filling, so I reckon they would have served five instead of four. They were pretty thick, so they felt pretty decadent even though most of that thickness came from good ol’ rolled oats. Mum has let me know I can make them anytime!

Leave a Reply

